British Government Removes Spain from List of Travel Corridor Countries

The British Government has removed Spain from the list of travel corridor countries that are exempt from requiring returning visitors to quarantine for a period of 14 days. Anyone returning from the country from 26 July 2020 will be required to self-quarantine and avoid contact with others. The move also means that the Government is advising against all but essential travel to Spain.

A spokesperson for the Government said:

“The Joint Biosecurity Centre together with Public Health England have updated their coronavirus assessments of Spain based on the latest data. As a result, Spain has been removed from the lists of countries from which passengers arriving in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are exempted from the need to self-isolate.

Protecting public health is our absolute priority and we have taken this decision to limit any potential spread to the UK. We’ve always been clear that we would act immediately to remove a country where necessary. Both our list of quarantine exemptions and the FCO travel advice are being updated to reflect these latest risk assessments.”