Liberal Democrats Suspend Leadership Election Until 2021

The Liberal Democrats have confirmed that they have suspended the party’s leadership election by a year and it will now be held in 2021. The party has had no leader since Jo Swinson lost her Parliamentary seat at the December 2019 General Election, with Sir Ed Davey MP and Mark Park currently jointly leading the Liberal Democrats in an acting capacity.

The two candidates who had already put their names forwards for the contest include Wera Hobhouse, the MP for Bath, and Layla Moran, the MP for Oxford West and Abingdon.

Mark Pack said in a statement:

“Throughout our history, we have always put the national interest first. We know that coronavirus will have many implications for our society, public services, economy and day-to-day lives. It will also have important implications for how we operate as a political party. In particular, even when current lockdown restrictions are relaxed, we still be living in a world where for months, if not years, to come it is possible lockdowns will have to be reintroduced at short notice.”