Conservative Party Sweep to Victory as Labour Suffer Historic Defeat

Boris Johnson, the Prime Minister, has led the Conservative Party to a comfortable victory at the General Election. Labour suffered an historic defeat, whilst the SNP made significant gains in Scotland.

The Conservatives won 364 seats, Labour 203 seats, the SNP 48 seats, the Liberal Democrats 11 seats, the DUP 8 seats, Sinn Fein 7 seats and Plaid Cymru 4 seats.

Jeremy Corbyn, the Labour leader, confirmed he wouldn’t lead the party into another General Election and Jo Swinson, the Liberal Democrats, also stood down after losing her seat to the SNP.