10 Candidates Confirmed in Conservative Party Leadership Contest

The backbench 1922 committee of the Conservative Party has announced that there will be ten candidates taking part in the party’s leadership contest. Each of the candidates has secured the support of eight MPs and the first round of the contest will be on 13 June 2019, with the final announcement expected to be announced in late July 2019.

The candidates are:

Environment Secretary Michael Gove
Health Secretary Matt Hancock
Former Chief Whip Mark Harper
Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt
Home Secretary Sajid Javid
Former Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson
Former Leader of the House Andrea Leadsom
Former Work and Pensions Secretary Esther McVey
Former Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab
International Development Secretary Rory Stewart