Jeremy Corbyn Appoints 20 Labour MPs to the Front Bench

Jeremy Corbyn, the Leader of the Opposition, has brought twenty Labour MPs onto the party’s front-bench, including some of the 2017 intake. There has yet to be an announcement regarding Angela Eagle, Chuka Umunna and Dan Jarvis, all of whom had expressed a willingness to serve in the Shadow Ministerial team.

Anneliese Dodds and Afzal Khan both join the Labour front bench team despite only having been first elected in June 2017, although both have previously served as MEPs.

Corbyn said in a statement:

“I’m delighted to be filling Labour’s shadow front bench with a wealth of talent. Our new shadow ministers will bolster the excellent work of Labour’s shadow cabinet and departmental teams. These appointments are further evidence that Labour is not just the opposition – we are the government in waiting”.

Although further appointments are still expected, the newly appointed MPs are:


David Drew

Holly Lynch

Home Affairs

Nick Thomas Symonds

Chris Williamson

Afzal Khan

Louise Haigh


Paul Sweeney


Gloria de Piero

Imran Hussain

International Development

Roberta Blackman Woods


Rachael Maskell

Karl Turner


Anneliese Dodds


Tony Lloyd

Melanie Onn

Women and equalities

Carolyn Harris


Gerald Jones

Local Government

Yvonne Fovargue


Tracey Brabin


Chris Ruane