Government Confirms Details of 17 New Garden Towns and Villages

Gavin Barwell

The Government has confirmed the location of seventeen new garden towns and villages across the UK. There will initially be an estimated 50,000 new homes built across the locations, with the new villages and towns receiving some limited financial support from the Government.

Gavin Barwell, the Housing and Planning Minister, said in a statement:

“Locally-led garden towns and villages have enormous potential to deliver the homes that communities need. New communities not only deliver homes, they also bring new jobs and facilities and a big boost to local economies. These places combined could provide almost 200,000 homes”.

The locations of the new garden villages are:

Long Marston in Stratford-on-Avon
Oxfordshire Cotswold in West Oxfordshire
Deenethorpe in East Northants
Culm in Mid Devon
Welborne near Fareham in Hampshire
West Carclaze in Cornwall
Dunton Hills near Brentwood, Essex
Spitalgate Heath in South Kesteven, Lincolnshire
Halsnead in Knowsley, Merseyside
Longcross in Runnymede and Surrey Heath
Bailrigg in Lancaster
Infinity Garden Village in South Derbyshire and Derby City area
St Cuthberts near Carlisle City, Cumbria
North Cheshire in Cheshire East

The three locations for new garden towns are:

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Taunton, Somerset
Harlow & Gilston, Essex and Hertfordshire