Jeremy Corbyn Conducts Shadow Cabinet Reshuffle with Diane Abbott as Shadow Home Secretary


Jeremy Corbyn, the Leader of the Opposition, has reshuffled some members of the Shadow Cabinet, with further announcements expected later on.

Rosie Winterton has been sacked as the party’s chief whip after six years and will be replaced by Nick Brown, who held the role during Gordon Brown’s premiership. Diane Abbott has become the Shadow Home Secretary, replacing Andy Burnham who is running to become the Mayor of Manchester.

Baroness Shami Chakrabarti  becomes the Shadow Attorney General and Sir Keir Starmer becomes the new Shadow Brexit Secretary, despite Emily Thornberry trying to retain that as part of her role.

Sarah Champion becomes the Shadow Woman and Equalities Minister, Jo Stevens the Shadow Secretary of State for Wales and Jonathan Reynolds the Shadow Economic Secretary to the Treasury. Clive Lewis moves to become the Shadow Business Secretary, with his former role of Shadow Defence Secretary being taken by Nia Griffith.