New Conservative Party Leader to be Declared on 9 September 2016


The next Conservative Party leader will be in place on 9 September 2016, after a week delay was added by the party’s board to give the process more time.

Although subject to 1922 committee approval, which is the party’s committee of backbench MPs, the board said:

“The board and the 1922 committee both agree that the leadership election should take place as speedily as practical considerations allow. In order to ensure there is full participation by the membership, the Party Board recommends that the date of the declaration of the leader is the 9 September 2016”.

The front-runners so far include Theresa May and Boris Johnson, although other contenders are expected including Liam Fox, Jeremy Hunt and Stephen Crabb.