Substantial Majority in Cabinet to Vote to Stay in the EU


David Cameron, the Prime Minister, has confirmed that as the negotiations over the UK’s membership of the EU have been completed that Cabinet Ministers are now free to campaign as they wish.

The total number of Cabinet Ministers supporting leaving the EU is lower than had been expected although Michael Gove has joined the ‘no’ camp. There are five Cabinet Ministers opposing the UK’s continued membership of the EU, the other four are Iain Duncan Smith, Chris Grayling, John Whittingdale and Theresa Villiers.

The Cabinet Ministers supporting the UK’s continued membership of the EU are:

David Cameron

George Osborne

Theresa May

Philip Hammond

Sajid Javid

Oliver Letwin

Patrick McLoughlin

Stephen Crabb

Anna Soubry

Nicky Morgan

Jeremy Hunt

Greg Hands

Matt Hancock

Jeremy Wright

Justine Greening

Liz Truss

David Mundell

Michael Fallon