Penny Mordaunt Sacked From Cabinet

Penny Mordaunt has been sacked from the Cabinet by Boris Johnson, the new Prime Minister. Mordaunt had served as the Secretary of State for Defence since May 2019.

Mordaunt posted on Twitter:

“I’m heading to the backbenches from where the PM will have my full support, as will my successors at @DefenceHQ & @WomenEqualities. Thank you to everyone who’s helped me get things done, especially our Armed Forces and civilians in defence for the last 85 days. We achieved much🇬🇧”

Liam Fox Sacked From Cabinet

Liam Fox has been sacked from the Cabinet by Boris Johnson, the new Prime Minister. Fox had served as the Secretary of State for International Trade from 2016 to 2019.

Fox said across four Tweets on Twitter:

Sadly, I will be leaving the Government. It has been a privilege to have served as Secretary of State for International Trade these past 3 years.

I am proud to have worked with a tremendously talented team @tradegovuk to boost trade & investment and prepare for Brexit.

The world-class trade department we have built leaves the UK uniquely well-positioned to forge our new trading relationships beyond Europe and create a truly Global Britain.

But we must first undertake the momentous task of delivering on the instruction of the British people and leave the European Union. I look forward to supporting @BorisJohnson and the government from the backbenches.

Philip Hammond, David Lidington, Rory Stewart and David Gauke Confirm Resignations from Cabinet

Philip Hammond, David Lidington, Rory Stewart and David Gauke have all confirmed that they will be leaving the Cabinet. All four had made their announcement in advance of Boris Johnson becoming the next Prime Minister.

Hammond was the Chancellor of the Exchequer, Lidington was the Deputy Prime Minister, Stewart was the Secretary of State for International Development and Gauke was the Secretary of State for Justice.

Jared O’Mara’s Chief of Staff Condemns the Beleaguered Sheffield Hallam MP

Jared O’Mara, the former Labour MP who was suspended from the party for hate speech, has been attacked on Twitter by his own Chief of Staff, Gareth Arnold. Arnold, using the MP’s own Twitter account posted numerous Tweets about how he felt O’Mara had treated his constituents.

The final Tweet posted by Arnold was:

“Sheffield Hallam deserves so much better than you. You have wasted opportunities which people dare not to even dream of. Consider this my resignation. Thanks Gareth Arnold.”

O’Mara, who beat the former Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg, to win the constituency of Sheffield Hallam, has made only infrequent appearances in the House of Commons and has refused to resign despite for a time not even having a constituency office.

Mark Spencer Appointed Conservative Party Chief Whip

Mark Spencer has been appointed by Boris Johnson, the incoming Prime Minister, as the Chief Whip. Spencer is the first Cabinet appointee made by Johnson, with the rest of the Cabinet team expected to be made tomorrow. Spencer replaces Julian Smith, who had held the role of chief whip since November 2017.

Rory Stewart and David Gauke Resign From Cabinet Following Johnson Victory

Rory Stewart

Rory Stewart, the Secretary of State for International Development, and David Gauke, the Secretary of State for Justice, have resigned from the Cabinet following the victory of Boris Johnson in the Conservative leadership contest.

Stewart posted on Twitter:

“Congratulations @BorisJohnson on becoming Leader. Honour to serve in turn as Minister of Environment @DefraGovUK, Mid East +Asia @DFID_UK, Africa @FCO, Prisons @MoJGovUK + then Development Secretary in Cabinet +NSC. Backbench tomorrow serving Cumbria. Thank you all. More walking!”

Gauke also posted on Twitter, saying:

“Congratulations @BorisJohnson on being elected as Leader of @Conservatives and PM @10DowningStreet. An honour to serve in Cabinet @MoJGovUK, @DWP and @hmtreasury under @theresa_may. Looking forward to returning to backbenches tomorrow, serving people of South West Hertfordshire.”

Anne Milton Resigns from Government

Anne Milton, the Minister of State at the Department of Education, has resigned saying that she has “grave concerns” about the plans which Boris Johnson, the new Prime Minister, has announced for Brexit.

Boris Johnson is the New Conservative Party Leader and Prime Minister

Boris Johnson has been confirmed as the new leader of the Conservative Party and the next Prime Minister. He will formally replace Theresa May tomorrow, on Wednesday 24 July 2019, when he visits Buckingham Palace to meet the Queen.

Boris Johnson beat Jeremy Hunt following a postal vote of the party’s members by 92,153 votes to 46,656.

Jo Swinson Announced as the New Leader of the Liberal Democrats

Jo Swinson, the Liberal Democrat MP for East Dunbartonshire, has been elected as the new leader of the party, replacing Sir Vince Cable who has stood down. She was first elected to the House of Commons in 2005 and she served as a junior Minister during the coalition Government.

Swinson beat Sir Ed Davey, the Liberal Democrat MP for Kingston and Surbiton and the former Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change during the coalition Government.